Book Proposals

I’m attempting to write a book proposal for an edited collection based on a conference I organized.

I didn’t realize how much work goes into such a thing!  Not only do I need to collect all the outline plans from the contributors (some still pending), I need a project aim and points of interest and, of course, how I might sell it to a potential market.  Of course it goes without saying that I also need to provide a (brief) historiography of similar books in the field.  Oh yes, let’s not forget mentioning how it helps interdisciplinarity, too!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy to do all these things.  The only way I’m going to get better with them is to do them.  Knowing the previous research will obviously help in situating and selling the book, so that’s not a bad thing.  Same with making sure there are enough contributors.  The interdisciplinary aspect actually seems the easiest, since almost every contributor is from a different field (and different university).  I suppose making it all coherent will the hardest part since we all are so diverse.  But I’m looking forward to refining the proposal and getting some feedback.  I just wish the process wasn’t so long!  Just collecting the chapter plans has been a three month process; I can hardly expect the full chapters to be any quicker.

Anyway, here’s to hoping everything comes together soon!

This entry was posted in Books, Popular Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

