The Blockbusters Are Coming!

With the Memorial Day Weekend in the States and the late spring bank holiday weekend here in the UK recently passing, it’s officially summer, and we all know what that means! BBQs, bikinis, the beach and, oh yeah, the summer blockbuster movie season is upon us once again.  You could, of course, make the argument that the blockbuster season keeps moving up the earlier and earlier, or that it never truly ends, since there have been plenty of blockbuster-type films already this year, including Noah, Captain America 2, Godzilla and The Amazing Spider Man 2.

summerblockbusterI really have no arguments against that premise and grant it to you willingly.  Officially, however, we’ve now entered the blockbuster season.  School is, or soon will be, out for most of the primary and secondary kids and they seem to have money to burn.  I wish I could afford the higher tickets and concession stand prices on a regular basis.  Or, rather, most years I do.  This year, not so much.

Having already seen Captain America 2, there’s almost nothing I’m really looking forward to this summer.  I do want to see X-Men: Days of Future Past, as I’ve both heard good things about it and like most of Bryan Singer’s movies.  I’m willing to wait until it comes on TV (or a legal streaming service), though, because I didn’t particularly love the previous film.  The only other things I’m even halfway interested in this year might be How to Train Your Dragon 2 and the third instalment of Peter Jackson’s Hobbit trilogy (did it really need to be a trilogy?).  Other than that, though, I’m most likely going to pass on most films.  Even though I’m a huge Marvel Studios fan I’m not even that excited by Guardians of the Galaxy; I’ve seen a preview and it didn’t look that good.

I can tell yblockbusterou some movies that I definitely don’t want to see.  They’re the ones that have anything to do with Michael Bay and his re-creating and ruining my childhood memories.  Does there really need to be a Transformers 4?  I asked for my money back for the first one, and I got in free, that’s how bad it was.  And a new Ninja Turtles film?  When will Megan Fox stop getting work; she’s not that talented.  Her films sell tickets, though, which is apparently what counts in Hollywood.  I’ll stick to the ’80s cartoons, thankyouverymuch!

Perhaps it’s because I’m getting older and more discerning.  Perhaps it’s because I’d rather spend my money on other things that I know I’m going to like.  Or perhaps I’m just so focused on finishing my PhD that I don’t want the distractions (yeah, that’s obviously the reason…).  Most movies this summer, this year really, don’t appeal to me for some reason.  I suppose if there’s any year for bad movies this is a good one for me because I’m busy writing.  On the other hand, it would be nice to treat myself to something nice every once in a while, to get away from the computer and take a break.  I suppose that’s what cooking dinner is for, isn’t it.

For all those going to see any movies this summer I look forward to your reviews.  But don’t say I didn’t warn you if they turn out horrible.

 

This entry was posted in Films, Popular Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

