Comic-Con Previews

I wrote a while ago about not watching TV or movie previews. Generally I don’t.  Not because they’re not interesting, but often because I have other things I’d rather watch. Or that I don’t want to get overly excited (or depressed) about the show or movie. When it comes to what appears at the San Diego Comic-Con, which happened over the past weekend, however, I’m willing to make an exception.

Now, I’ve never been to any comic conventions, let alone #SDCC, so I’m not exactly sure how it all works. From what I’ve seen and heard from others it seems to be similar to a really large conference. The biggest conference I ever attended was four days with two or three panels happening simultaneously. Thus I had to pick which panels and speakers I wanted to see. I never had to wait in a line overnight, like SDCC Hall H panels, but the basic concept, at least, is similar.

I have a friend who went to SDCC (as has for as long as I’ve known him, actually). He seems to have a good time every year, and this year I was a bit jealous. He was live-tweeting (with pictures) the whole convention, including getting donuts from the Star Trek panel while waiting in line. Apparently the people in line waited for almost 24 hours to get in to the panel. That’s dedication. The entire panel is now available to watch, so whether the entire thing was worth it is debatable.

I will say that I would have liked to get the first sneak peak of the new show before anyone else. But you can watch that for yourself now.

The #Trekkie in me is super excited for the show, Star Trek: Discovery. Show-runner Bryan Fuller is assembling quite the talented team of writers and producers. The registry number on the new ship, the USS Discovery, would theoretically place it after Enterprise and before TOS. There have been rumours of that time period for a while. I’ve even heard rumours of it taking place during the Earth-Romulan War, which has been relatively unexplored in Trek lore. Fuller, however, has been very coy about the show, helping to build my excitement. That said, I don’t like the look of the ship. Its triangle design looks ugly and aggressive. So far it looks to be the worst-looking ship in the whole Trek canon. That’s just my opinion, at least. I’ve seen others who like it.

The 50th Anniversary Trek panel was not the only thing happening at Comic-Con. I believe Hall H also hosted a Marvel panel. Which means more previews of the MCU. Of course I’m excited about all of these! Benedict Cumberbatch, the man who seems to be everywhere and in everything recently, will be Dr Strange in November this year.

The Netflix MCU shows will be in full force soon, too. Luke Cage airs 30 September.

There’s also been a brief preview for Iron Fist, which is ‘coming soon’.

Of course, with these two new shows and the already completed seasons of Daredevil and Jessica Jones, that means a team-up in The Defenders. All I know is that the mini-series will air in 2017. I’m hoping there will finally be some big tie-in to either Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. or, even better, both that show and the movies in the MCU. Perhaps setting up the characters to appear in Infinity War in 2018. And who else might be appearing in that (and her own, recently cast movie)? Brie Larson as Captain Marvel. Well, one can hope.

SDCC wasn’t just about Trek and Marvel, though. The DC universe got into the action with previews of some of their own upcoming films. I still haven’t seen Batman Vs Superman, and I don’t like Zack Snyder films, but even I have to admit some of the things looked interesting in the previews. Mostly I mean that there’s colour. Suicide Squad still has a dark, muted tone, but at least Harley Quinn and Joker are bright.

After that the new Wonder Woman movie comes out. As a friend of mine said, it basically seems like a female version of Captain America: First Avenger. But at least there’s a colour palette!

There was also a lot of humour, if not as much colour, in the Justice League trailer. Ben Affleck actually seems a decent choice for Batman, and Jason Momoa looks to be the perfect Aquaman. I’ll be interested in seeing how Ezra Miller’s version of the Flash compares to Grant Gustin’s version from TV.

There were plenty of other announcements coming out of SDCC, including Kong: Skull Island staring Tom Hiddleston (and Brie Larson — she’s almost as popular as Benedict Cumberbatch!), King Arthur: Legend of the Sword and the Harry Potter-verse related Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them with Eddie Redmayne (and Ezra Miller again!).

I doubt everything announced will live up to the hype, but I have hopes for quite a bit of it. Maybe one of these days I’ll actually get around to going to a convention of some sort. Maybe even SDCC.

This entry was posted in Popular Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

